Film Week, Day 3

I’ve been looking at a lot of Photoshop tutorials lately because, let’s face it: I’m a traditional photographer at heart. I like to be in the darkroom. I like to handle negatives. While I’ve come to utilize Photoshop as a sort of digital darkroom, there are very few changes I make to my images — it is rare that I will do something outside the bounds of what I could do in an actual darkroom.

Still, I’ve been reading the tutorials, learning techniques, figuring out ways to make new and different art from the images I capture. One thing that I saw over and over today was people wanting to know how to make their images appear to be cross-processed (traditionally this is done by processing slide film in chemicals meant for negatives).

At the same time, I picked up a sheaf of negatives to scan, continuing my process of digitizing all my work, especially my band photography. These negatives had been cross-processed, the traditional way. So I thought I’d post one here, because as great as Photoshop is, it sometimes just can’t even compare.

Shadows Fall

….

On to other things: today I shot around the house, using an ancient Nikon macro lens and my FM. I had never used a lens quite like this one, and I can’t wait to see how the shots come out.

Leave a Reply

