Dimma in HDR

I think I’ve talked previously about how I try to use Photoshop or other edits fairly minimally. Sometimes, though, there’s a technique that’s just too much fun to play around with. With today’s photo, I followed a tutorial aimed at producing images that mimic those created using what’s called HDR – high dynamic range imaging. It’s typically done using multiple exposures of the same shot, but can be fudged in Photoshop. And depending on which photo you start with, and whose tutorial you follow (I tried 3 tonight, and they produced wildly different results), you get a different result every time.

So here’s one technique, using layer masks and frequent adjustment of shadows and highlights:

Dimma in HDR

She’s normally a very sedately colored tortie, but the HDR processing created this awesome pop-art, sort-of -solarized, crazy image – all while retaining super sharp detail in certain areas, which I love.

This is definitely something I’ll play around with more – I think it could be especially interesting on some of my images of cars, which already have really bright color.

Leave a Reply

