Lynx, Meet Hibiscus

Sneaking in under the wire tonight. I was in bed, but the restless insomniac in me got back up. I figure it’s better to do something productive than lay there frustrated, right? (And, you know, I only have to be up in another 5 hours.)

We were inundated with lynx spiders this year, among other, more nefarious types. This one decided my hibiscus plant was the perfect place to lay her egg sac. Watching her was amazing: she laid the sac in the middle of the leaf, then using some super, extra strong silks, actually hemmed the leaf shut around the sac. If I happened to touch the plant, she would either charge towards me or move quickly to straddle her sac. Amazing and unexpected behaviors!

Lynx, Meet Hibiscus

You can just barely see her on the web – she was right below the egg sac when this was taken. It was so windy that I wasn’t able to get a good shot of the sewn-up leaf.

3 Responses to “Lynx, Meet Hibiscus”

  1. i totally get that -> “but the restless insomniac in me got back up. I figure it’s better to do something productive than lay there frustrated, right? ”

    anyways, nice photo
    next time i’m laying in bed wondering why i can’t sleep, i’ll pick my camera up

  2. I see the spider (beautiful) but can’t make out the egg sac/folded leaf. She must have it very well camouflaged.

  3. Chloe, that’s an awesome idea! I did the same last night and was fortunate enough to catch a bit of the meteor shower!

    Anne – you can’t see it because it’s not in the photo! So don’t worry, you aren’t crazy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

